Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha Eli Tomac put on an incredible show at the opening round of the 2023 Monster Energy AMA Supercross season at Anaheim 1 on Saturday night. After taking the lead on lap 4, Tomac had a strange crash while scrubbing the bridge. Despite this mishap, he managed to make a comeback and reclaim the lead on lap 18, and claim the win at A1. It was an unbelievable performance.

“It was an amazing Anaheim 1! It’s pretty special for us to do this at round one with a new platform, and for me, it’s been 10 years that I’ve been in the 450 class, so it feels good to get this win,” Tomac said. “It was an unbelievable day for us as a whole. I was P2 in practice and was very close to first place there, and then in the heat race, I got the holeshot and ran away with that one. That was awesome. In the main event, there was so much that happened there. I was really close to the holeshot again. I was right there and battled with Justin (Barcia). I made a pass for the lead and then made a mistake. I had a crash on the tunnel jump and ended up washing out. At that point in time, I thought the chance at the lead again was maybe over, but thankfully my bike was still straight, and everything was good. I somehow made it to the front of the pack again, so it was a wild turn of events, but overall the bike worked so well today. We’re off to the right start.”


With his big win on Saturday, Tomac broke a tie with Chad Reed on the all-time Supercross wins list. Tomac now has 45 career wins and trails the GOAT, Ricky Carmichael, by just three wins.

All-Time Supercross Win List After 2023 Anaheim 1

RankRiderAll-Time WinsChampionships
1Jeremy McGrath727
2James Stewart502
3Ricky Carmichael485
4*Eli Tomac452
5Chad Reed442
6Ryan Villopoto414
7Ryan Dungey344
8Ricky Johnson282
9Bob Hannah273
10Jeff Ward202
10*Ken Roczen20
12Damon Bradshaw19
12*Cooper Webb192
14Kevin Windham18
15Jeff Stanton173
15Mark Barnett171
17Jean-Michel Bayle161
18*Jason Anderson141
19Ezra Lusk12
20David Bailey111
20Mike Bell111
22Mike LaRocco10
22Broc Glover10
22*Marvin Musquin10
25Ron Lechien8
25Jimmy Ellis81
27David Vuillemin7
27Jeff Emig71
27Johnny O’Mara71
30Trey Canard5
30Davi Millsaps5
30Mike Kiedrowski5
30Kent Howerton5
30*Justin Barcia5
35Doug Henry4
35Donnie Hansen41
35Darrell Shultz4
35Jimmy Weinert41
39Larry Ward3
39Marty Smith3
41Marty Tripes2
41Tony DiStefano2
43Cole Seely1
43Josh Grant1
43Josh Hill1
43Nathan Ramsey1
43John Dowd1
43Sebastien Tortelli1
43Damon Huffman1
43Greg Albertyn1
43Mike Craig1
43Doug Dubach1
43Jeff Matiasevich1
43Rick Ryan1
43Rex Staten1
43Chuck Sun1
43Steve Wise1
43Gaylon Mosier1
43Jaroslav Falta1
43Jim Pomeroy1
43Pierre Karsmakers11
43Andrew Short1
43*Justin Brayton1
43Blake Baggett1
43Zach Osborne1
43*Chase Sexton1